Denton Theft Attorney
Providing Effective Counsel for Theft Charges in Denton County
In Texas, a person commits a theft crime when they take someone else's property without consent and without intending to return it to the owner. Theft can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, with the level depending on various factors, such as the value of the property or the type of item stolen. If you have been charged with an offense, you could be facing severe conviction penalties, including incarceration and/or fines. Additionally, you may have a mark on your criminal record for life, which could present hurdles as you try to do things like get a job or find a place to live.
To fight your theft charge, you need aggressive defense on your side throughout your case. At Marsala Law Group, our Denton attorneys can deliver the legal representation you need. When we take on a case, we do so with integrity and honesty. You can be sure that when you have a question or concern about your matter, we will be available to provide a straightforward answer and deliver practical solutions. We understand the challenges a criminal conviction can place on your life, which is why we care about working toward a favorable resolution for you.
What Type of Conduct Is Considered Theft?
Theft involves appropriating another person's property.
Texas law provides that unlawfully appropriating property means:
- Taking something without the owner's consent;
- Taking or accepting property a person knows to be stolen; or
- Taking property a law enforcement official presents as stolen
At Marsala Law Group, we know that several defenses can be raised to challenge accusations of theft. We will listen to your side of the story to develop a strategy for your particular situation.
What Are the Penalties for Theft in Texas?
If you're accused of theft, the punishments you could face depend on the nature of the alleged offense.
The level of charges and penalties for theft in Texas include:
- A Class C misdemeanor is charged for appropriating property valued at less than $100. The punishments include a fine of up to $500
A Class B misdemeanor is charged for appropriating:
- Property valued at $100 or more or less than $750
- Property valued at less than $100 and the defendant has a previous theft conviction
- A driver's licenses, commercial driver's license or ID card
This level of offense is penalized by a jail term of up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
- A Class A misdemeanor is charged for appropriating property valued at $750 or more but less than $2,500. A conviction may result in a jail sentence of up to 1 year and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
A state jail felony is charged for appropriating:
- Property valued at $2,500 or more but less than $30,000
- A firearm
- Property valued at less than $2,500 and the defendant has 2 or more prior theft convictions
A state jail felony is penalized by between 180 days and 2 years in state jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
A third-degree felony is charged for appropriating:
- Property valued at $30,000 or more but less than $150,000
- A controlled substance valued at less than $150,000 and it was taken from a specific facility
- A conviction carries a prison sentence of between 2 and 10 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
A second-degree felony is charged for appropriating:
- Property valued at $150,000 or more but less than $300,000
- An ATM or its contents and the value of the property is less than $300,000
A conviction may result in between 2 and 20 years in prison and/or a fine of $10,000.
- A first-degree felony is charged for appropriating property valued at $300,000 or more. This level of charge is punishable by a prison term of between 5 and 99 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
In certain circumstances, a theft crime can be charged at the next higher classification of offense. These situations include when:
- The property owner was an elderly person or non-profit organization
- The alleged offender caused a fire alarm to sound or deactivated a fire alarm or theft detection device
Is Theft the Same as Robbery?
Although robbery involves similar elements as theft, it is not the same crime.
Under Texas Penal Code § 29.02, a person can be charged with robbery when they commit a theft crime and they:
- Cause bodily injury to another; or
- Makes a threat that causes someone to fear they are in imminent danger of bodily injury or death
Robbery is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Certain factors can elevate the offense to aggravated robbery. These include when the actor:
- Causes serious bodily injury;
- Uses or displays a deadly weapon;
- Makes a threat that causes the alleged victim to fear serious injury or death and the alleged victim is 65 years or older or a disabled person.
Aggravated robbery is a first-degree felony. It is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 99 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Protecting Your Rights and Freedoms
The punishments for a theft offense are serious, and having a lawyer handle your case can have a substantial impact on its outcome. Our Denton theft crimes lawyers will fight hard for you and seek an optimal result, such as having charges reduced or the case dismissed.
A.G. – Denton Misdemeanor Assault Family Violence Not Guilty
State presented seven eye-witnesses to dispute our claim of self-defense.
Clay County-DWI 2nd and Resisting Arrest Dismissed
J.P. – Dallas Felony Indecent Exposure Case Dismissed
Original offer was 5 years in prison. After our investigation prior to trial, we discovered enough inconsistencies to convince the DA to dismiss!
H.R. – Denton Felony Aggravated Assault Not Guilty
Not guilty verdict despite 3rd party-eye witness who testified my client went out to his car and grabbed a tire iron and chased after the victim and beat him repeatedly over the head. This is self-defense at it's finest.
S.M. – Denton Murder Case Dismissed
M.J. - Dallas Aggravated Sexual Assault of Child Not Guilty
Substituted in for another attorney because client did not want to accept 8 years in prison.
A.P.G. – Denton Aggravated Sex Assault of Child & 3 Counts of Indecency with a Child Not Guilty - Jury Trial
S.B. – Cooke County Felony Theft Case Dismissed
Dismissed the day before trial due to inadequate DNA evidence.
Dr. J.B. – DWI with Multiple Drug Charges Cases Dismissed
All drug cases dismissed as well as a subsequent DWI while the client was on Probation.
Dr. R.C. – Tarrant DWI Not Guilty
Honest Legal Counsel
We firmly believe honesty is the best policy. Our team will provide you with transparent updates and realistic outcomes.
Personalized Attention & Service
Each case and each client is different. We provide focused representation that is specific to your case and your needs.
Available 24/7 for You
Our lead attorney is personally available to each and every client. We are there for you day or night.
We Care About the Outcome
We truly care about each and every client. We understand this is a vulnerable time in your life and we are committed to being with you every step of the way.