Indecency with a Child

Protect your future with a criminal defense attorney in Denton County

Some sexual offenses are specific to children, including indecency with a child. Indecency with a child can involve a number acts, which including: fondling, touching, exposure of genitals, rape, child abuse, sexual assault, molestations, child prostitution, and child pornography.

These charges often carry harsh penalties, including jail or prison time, fines, and the requirement to register as a sex offender. There could also be other repercussions, such as ineligibility to vote or hold public office, restrictions on residential locations, inability to obtain certain jobs, and public and private humiliation.

Indecency with a Child Defense Attorneys in Denton

If you face charges of indecency with a minor, it is important you act fast to protect your rights, future freedoms, and reputation. Charges do not have to mean a conviction. The criminal defense attorneys at Marsala Law Group understand how important your freedom is, and we will fight to protect you.

Indecency with a Child by Contact

A person can be charged with the felony offense of indecency with a child if it is alleged that he or she engaged in sexual contact with a child younger than 17 years old, according to Texas Penal Code § 21.11(c). The term “sexual contact” refers to acts including:

  • Any touching by a person, including touching through the clothing, of the anus, breast or any part of the genitals of the child
  • Any touching of any part of the body by the child, including touching through the clothing, with the anus, breast or any part of the genitals of a person

Indecency with a Child by Exposure

A person can be charged with indecency with a child by exposure, according to Texas Penal Code § 21.11(a)(2), if it is alleged that they commit any of the following acts with a child, minor, or juvenile:

  • Cause the child to expose any part of their anus or genitals
  • Expose any part of the genitals or anus, while knowing a child is present

If you have been accused of indecency with a child, contact our law office immediately for a free consultation.

Penalties for Indecency with a Minor

As described in the Texas Penal Code, Chapter 12, the criminal charge of indecency with a child by contact is a felony of the second degree, punishable by:

  • 2 – 20 years in prison,
  • a fine of up to $10,000
  • or both

Indecency with a child by exposure is a felony of the third degree punishable by:

  • 2 – 10 years in prison,
  • a fine up to $10,000
  • or both

Related charges can include sexual assault of a child.

Finding a Child Indecency Defense Lawyer in Denton County

If you were charged with the serious felony offense of indecency with a child, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Marsala Law Group.

We represent clients charged with sex crimes in Denton and surrounding cities. Contact us to discuss the particular facts of your case.

Resources

https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/SexOffenderRegistry

http://coastalbend.edu/uploadedFiles/CBC/Content/Administrative_Services/Human_Resources/Title_IX/Legal%20Definitions%20of%20Sexual%20Assault.pdf

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/docs/pe/htm/pe.21.htm

Close Menu