Driving While License Invalid
Speak with an Experienced Denton County DWI Defense Attorney
Though it does not seem like a serious charge when compared to an arrest for DWI or theft, an arrest for Driving While License Invalid (DWLI) or Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) is a serious offense in Texas. A conviction can subject you to jail time, a criminal record, fines, and surcharges. If you have a previous conviction for DWLI or DWLS, the new charge can be raised to a higher level charge.
Penalties for Driving While License Invalid in Texas
Driving While License Invalid or Driving While License Suspended is considered a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. If convicted, you will likely be faced with jail time, plus a fine in the range of $100-$500. If you have a prior DWLS/DWLI conviction, then the DWLS/DWLI charge can be raised to a Class A misdemeanor, meaning you could face up to one year in jail and fines of up to $4,000.
A DWLI charge is sometimes found in addition to a DWI charge, if there is evidence to support the claim.
To help you protect your future, and reduce the chances that any other charges will be added, please contact our law office for a free consultation.
It is considered an offense if the driver is operating a motor vehicle:
- After the driver’s license has been canceled and not renewed
- During a period that the driver’s license or privilege is suspended or revoked under any law;
- While the driver’s license is expired if the license expired during a period of suspension;
- After renewal of the person’s driver’s license has been denied under any law of the state